The education system in the UK is divided into four main parts, primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the UK have to legally attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until the student is 16 years old.

The education system in the UK is also split into “key stages” which breaks down as follows:

  • Key Stage 1 5 to 7 years old
  • Key Stage 2 7 to 11 years old
  • Key Stage 3 11 to 14 years old
  • Key Stage 4 14 to 16 years old

Generally key stages 1 and 2 will be undertaken at primary school and at 11 years old a student will move onto secondary school and finish key stages 3 and 4.

Students are assessed at the end of each stage. The most important assessment occurs at age 16 when students pursue their GCSE’s or General Certificate of Secondary Education. Once students complete their GCSE’s they have the choice to go onto further education and then potential higher education, or finish school and go into the working world.

Once a student finishes secondary education they have the option to extend into further education to take their Advanced levels (A level), GNVQ’s, BTEC’s or other such qualifications. UK students planning to go to college or university must complete further education and pass a few subject exams. Because A-level students often apply to universities before they have taken their final exams, British universities (including Scottish universities, which receive many applicants taking A-levels) consider predicted A-level results when deciding whether applicants should be offered places. A-levels, like GCSE’s, follow a two-year program and there are two components to them, full A-levels and half AS-levels. Generally A-levels comprise of 6 modules, and an AS-level 3 modules. Students will generally take between two to three A-levels, but depending on your academic ability and drive you may take more. Students at independent schools may take anywhere up to 5 A-levels. A- Level exam is considered as an entrance exam for University submission. More detail information about UK education is presented on the website UK international student.

Below it is presented some final math tests for students who take A-Level programs. These tests are specified as Core 1, Core 2, Core 3, and Core 4. The Common Core State Standards for Mathematics represent a set of expectations for student knowledge and skills that high school graduates need to master to succeed in college and careers. Some of advanced universities , for example, University of Oxford, mathematical institute, requires additional math exam.

Core 1

Core 2

Core 3

Core 4

Oxford math test